What is meant by driving without a license?
We’re not talking about driving to the grocery store only to realize that you’ve left your license and wallet at home. Being charged with driving without a license occurs when someone either does not have a license or has let their license expire. This can happen when you move to Georgia from another state. Many people don’t realize that when you move to Georgia from another state, you have to go the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and apply for a new driver’s license. The deadline to do this varies by state, but you are allowed only 30 days to apply for a new license when you move to Georgia from another state. If you miss this deadline, your old license will effectively expire and you can unknowingly become an unlicensed driver.
What are the penalties for driving without a license?
Under Georgia law, driving without a license is a misdemeanor crime. If you’re convicted of driving without a license, you can be required to serve between two days and twelve months in jail plus pay a fine of $500 to $1,000. Additionally, upon conviction of driving without a license, your fingerprints will be forwarded to the Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) for purposes of tracking any future offenses. If you’re convicted of a second or third offense within a five-year period, you will be guilty of a high and aggravated misdemeanor. A fourth conviction within a five-year period is a felony.
Don’t let a charge of driving without a license steer your future in the wrong direction. We’ll help you get your life back on course! Call the experienced criminal defense attorneys of The Turner Firm today for a free analysis of your case.