Can I file my own license appeal after I’m arrested for DUI in Georgia?
If you are arrested for DUI, the officer may take your driver’s license and try to administratively suspend your driving privileges for one year. Under new Georgia law, you now have 30 days (instead of 10 days) in which to file a license appeal and ask the State Office of Administrative Hearings to schedule a hearing on the license suspension issue.
The Appeal Process
While you can choose to write the appeal yourself, it is unwise to do so. By law, the appeal must raise the issues that may come up at the hearing. If you do the appeal yourself, you may omit key arguments that an experienced DUI lawyer would make at the hearing on your behalf. Additionally, there are also strict requirements as to the form of the appeal. It must include all your contact and drivers license information, as well as the statutory basis for requesting the hearing. If anything is missing, the State will dismiss your appeal and suspend your license immediately.
Help With Saving Your License
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, you need to get an experienced criminal lawyer to make sure that you save your license and keep your freedom.