Driving with a Suspended License in Georgia
If you are accused of breaking the law, your driving privileges can be taken away. In Georgia, driving penalties can include having your license cancelled, revoked, or suspended for a distinguished period of time. Driving with a suspended license is a punishable offense that—depending on your previous criminal record—could result in a felony charge.
How Can My License Be Suspended?
There are several situations in which your license could be suspended. For example, if you’re facing a criminal conviction or civil issue, such as vehicular homicide, illegal racing, a DUI conviction, or failing to pay child support, your license could hang in the balance.
Your license can also be suspended if your driving record suggests you’re a negligent driver. Driving violations, such as frequent speeding tickets, reckless driving, or failing to adhere to certain safety regulations can result in a one-year license suspension.
Georgia drivers are also required to carry proof of auto insurance. Not having proper insurance is a crime punishable by a 60-day suspension for first timers, and longer for repeat offenders.
Driving with a Suspended License
It is illegal to drive with a suspended license, and being caught doing so will cost you time and money. While penalties vary, first offenders often receive misdemeanor charges.
- Misdemeanor – Up to 12-months in jail with a fine between $500-$1,000
- Aggravated Misdemeanor – Up to 12-months in jail with a fine between $1,000-$2,500
- Felony – Up to five years in prison with a fine between $2,500-$5,000
Reinstating Your License
If your license has been suspended, you must apply to have it reinstated before being able to drive again. Reinstatement fees are costly, and can range up to $400.
Having your license suspended is not a situation to take lightly. If you’re facing charges for a suspended license, call The Turner Firm at (912) 303-5547 or fill out our case evaluation form to schedule a free review of your case today.